NZ National Ford Mustang Convention History

  • New Zealand’s very first national Mustang convention was held in Taranaki on Labour weekend in 1979 and followed on from an event held one year earlier which saw Cadillac and Mustang owners getting together to stage a car show
  • Drag racing was introduced to the convention programme by the Waikato group for the 4th Annual Mustang Convention in 1982 with Champion Dragway, Meremere providing the venue and some of the expertise needed to operate the track. This feature was repeated again in 1987 when the Waikato Mustang Owners Club again hosted the national convention.
  • Participation in the annual convention crept into three digits for the 1995 event hosted by the Auckland Mustang Owners Club when 100 Ford Mustangs were registered. This was at Auckland’s fourth staging of the convention. This feat was repeated in the new millennium when Auckland again attracted 100 Mustangs to the 2000 Mustang convention.
  • One year later the ManawatÅ« Mustang Owners Club set a new record with 115 cars in attendance. This number jumped to 124 in 2005 when Auckland once again hosted the convention. 2008 saw the number jump again when Canterbury hosted Mustangs and 150 of them showed up. This number skyrocketed to 239 when the Mustang celebrated its 50th Anniversary year and Canterbury once again hosted us in 2014.
  • Thirty one events were staged over the years with Taranaki, Auckland, ManawatÅ«, Waikato and Canterbury regions hosting, then in 2011 Southland joined the list of hosts with their first event based in Invercargill at which 250 cars participated.
  • The Bay of Plenty Mustang Owners Club were due to host their very first convention in 2021 but the dreaded COVID-19 put paid to their plans. Which brings us to 2023 and the Auckland Mustang Owners Club Inc. once again hosting. Who knows, perhaps another attendance record will be broken.

(Convention History courtesy of AMOC)

NZ National Ford Mustang Convention Schedule 1979 - 2027







0 1978 Taranaki New Plymouth   FIRST EVER Mustang (& Cadillac) Show
1 1979 Taranaki New Plymouth   The First Ever dedicated National Mustang Convention
2 1980 Auckland Auckland    
3 1981 Manawatu Palmerston North    
4 1982 Waikato Hamilton   Car show was held at the local Ford Dealers (Fairview motors)
5 1983 Canterbury Christchurch   Show venue Pioneer Stadium
6 1984 Taranaki New Plymouth    
7 1985 Auckland Auckland    
8 1986 Manawatu Palmerston North    
9 1987 Waikato Aaron Court Motel Hamilton   Show venue Senior Citizens Building in Victoria Street
10 1988 Canterbury Christchurch   Show venue Christchurch Convention Centre
11 1989 Taranaki New Plymouth    
12 1990 Auckland Auckland    
13 1991 Manawatu Palmerston North    
- 1992 Waikato No Convention Held NA Waikato Club Unable to Host 
14 1993 Canterbury Redwood Hotel Christchurch ? Show venue Turner’s Car Auctions Moorhouse Ave
15 1994 Taranaki Quality Hotel New Plymouth 73 Car show at the TSB Stadium
16 1995 Auckland Logan Park Quality hotel Auckland 100 Show at Mt Smart Supertop at Ericsson Stadium
17 1996 Manawatu Quality Hotel Palmerston North 71 Car show at the Akers Pavillion
18 1997 Waikato Quality Hotel Hamilton 69 Show at the Claudelands Showgrounds
19 1998 Canterbury Airport Plaza Hotel Christchurch ? Show at Chch Convention Centre
20 1999 Taranaki Quality Hotel New Plymouth 88 Car show at the TSB Stadium
21 2000 Auckland Waipuna Hotel Auckland 100 Lovely Sunny weekend
22 2001 Manawatu Quality Hotel Palmerston North 115 Sunny: New Record Turnout 
23 2002 Waikato Quality Hotel Hamilton 100 Wet but well enjoyed event
24 2003 Canterbury Garden Hotel Shirley Christchurch 113 Sunny: Record South Island Turnout. Show at Chch Convention Centre   
25 2004 Taranaki New Plymouth 121 Wet: but great turnout
26 2005 Auckland Waipuna Hotel Auckland 124 Fine: A new national record turnout 
27 2006 Manawatu Kingsgate Hotel Palmerston North 124 Wet: but a record equalling turnout
28 2007 Waikato Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton 129 Sunny: A new registration record. 
29 2008 Canterbury Latimer Lodge Christchurch 150 Huge!!! Another registration record!
30 2009 Taranaki Quality Hotel New Plymouth 120 Sunny: Brilliant convention
31 2010 Auckland Grand Chancellor Auckland Airport 147 Superb convention, with awesome weather.
32 2011 Southern Invercargill 130 1st Southern Convention: 250 delegates+ Good weather
33 2012 Manawatu Wellington 116 Show venue TSB Arena on waterfront.
34 2013 Waikato Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton 136 Show at Claudelands Centre
35 2014 Canterbury Rydges Hotel Christchurch 239 Mustang 50th Anniversary year. Show venue Turner’s
36 2015 Taranaki Quality Hotel Plymouth International 124 50th Anniversary of Shelby
37 2016 Auckland Spencer on Byron Takapuna 151 Car Show at Viaduct Events Centre
38 2017 Southern Ascot Park Hotel Invercargill 170 Show venue at ITL Stadium
39 2018 Manawatu Napier 167 Main function centre at Napier Convention Centre
40 2019 Waikato Distinction Hotel Hamilton 168 Outdoor show at 4 Guys Autobarn
41 2020 Canterbury Rydges Hotel Christchurch 225 Show at Horncastle Arena
42 2021 Bay of Plenty Hotel Armitage Tauranga 241 Trustpower Arena, Baypark Cancelled due to Covid-19
43 2022 Taranaki Plymouth Hotel New Plymouth  ? Car Show at TSB Stadium
44 2023 Auckland Ramada Suites Manukau Auckland   Show at Due Drop Events Centre (Formerly the Vodafone Events Centre)
45 2024 Southern Invercargill    
46 2025 Manawatu Palmerston North    
47 2026 Waikato Hamilton    
48 2027 Canterbury Christchurch    

Some photos and articles in this website are courtesy of members, clubs, publications or social media

Terms  |  Privacy  |  Site Map  |  Staff Login