1988 - 10th National Ford Mustang Convention

CMOC’s second National Ford Mustang Convention was hosted by the Canterbury Club in Christchurch in 1988.

  • CMOC had gone into a decline after 1983 Convention due to many issues, and membership started to recover closer to 1988 Convention (40)
  • 55 attendees, 30 from CMOC
  • Redwood Tavern was the HQ and accommodation,

Pioneer Stadium again hosted the car show, and drags at Ruapuna on Sunday

  • Notable CMOC attendees included Glen and Kathryn Martin, Ray and Gail Spencer, Martin van Elst, Ashley Smith, Dennis and Erica Phillips, Ric Phillips, Barry Fairbrass, all are still members today
  • Ray and Gail won Best Fastback; Ric Phillips won 3rd in Best Notchback; Ashley Smith was 2nd in Best Convertible and 2nd in People’s Choice (the blue ‘64 he still owns).

Ray and Gail Spencer's 1964 Mustang N/B previous owner Warren Bruce

1988 Convention Program cover
1988 Members List

Terms  |  Privacy  |  Site Map  |  Staff Login